This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

XT3 vs A7iii IBIS

Discussion in 'Videography' started by pnwhiker, Oct 11, 2018.

1. pnwhiker

pnwhiker New Member

-Return to Top-

Hello,

I do mostly landscape+travel stills but I want to get into videography (have zero experience). I'm getting the XT3 and 10-24 OIS and really want the 16-55 non-OIS.

I'm wondering if OIS is necessity for handheld stationary B-Roll+Slow mo. If so, will it be enough or is should I go with Sony A7III (IBIS)?

I don't plan to get a gimbal, it is too cumbersome for me.

Thanks

2. Fujiphotog

Fujiphotog Amateur photographer.

-Return to Top-

The X-H1 has IBIS. I have zero experience with video, but using this camera and the 16-55 was able to get some non-shaky videos.

The X-T3 is newer and has a few features the X-H1 doesn't have, but for most purposes either camera will do. The X-T3 really shines in faster autofocusing for rapidly moving subjects like birds in flight. (See Dan Hillier's review).

pszilard likes this.
  3. JimFenner

JimFenner Premium Member

-Return to Top-

I use my 10-24 OIS & X-Pro2 at 10mm for short walk-around clips, and for birds I use my 50-140mm which also has good OIS.

Software-only stabilization on video from your 16-55 lens might be good enough, it will help if you have mighty steady hands and don't walk while shooting.
    I post-process in Davinci Resolve to apply stabilization. Most people are 100% happy with Davinci Resolve free version (from BlackMagicDesign.com)
    If your PC lacks the grunt to run Davince Resolve then there will be other cheap or free video suites out there that can do the job.

If you are VLOGging I have no experience in that area.

Notes
    You will get better AF from the XT-3 than my X-Pro2 can do. I hope you will be able to leave it on AF-C while rolling.