This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

X-T1 rear wheel

Discussion in 'X-T2, X-T1, X-T20, X-T10' started by Fran Velasco, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. Fran Velasco

    Fran Velasco New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Madrid

    -Return to Top-

    Hi everyone,

    I've been using the X-T1 for more than a year and I'm wondering now if there is something you can use with the rear wheel. I know you can change aperture on XC lenses, but on lenses with aperture ring, is there any possible use for that dial?

    I'm pretty sure I've never used it with my 2.8/14, 1.4/23 or 2/50 mounted. It would be awesome if you could change ISO or something, anything.
     
  2. Dirk Offringa

    Dirk Offringa Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    France

    -Return to Top-

    exposure shift (shifting exposure while maintaining EV value, meaning you shift for instance the SS by 1/3 stop down and the Aperture 1/3 stop up) is the default assignment in shooting mode. Browsing though images otherwise. Or browsing through the menus and changing values. I don't see the use of having ISO there as we have already a dedicated dial for this.
     
    Fran Velasco likes this.
  3. Fran Velasco

    Fran Velasco New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Madrid

    -Return to Top-

    Thanks dirk, but to use it as an exposure shifter I must have ISO, aperture ring and SS in Auto. Otherwise it's still useless.

    And yes, I use it to browse and other menu operations, I forgot! I was asking only for shooting mode. Maybe I should have posted this on other board, I'm no newbie at all haha, but I still see that wheel useless while shooting with my kit.
     
  4. merosen

    merosen Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Somerville, MA

    -Return to Top-

    If you shoot with maual shutter speeds, set the shutter speed to "T".
    You cand use the comand dial to scroll thru the shutter speeds.
    If yo have the command dial set up to be reversed than the the front dial will change speeds
    Easier than switching the dial on top.
    This is on an X-t1, dont know how it is on other cameras
     
    CSG and Fran Velasco like this.
  5. Doug Pardee

    Doug Pardee Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    65

    -Return to Top-

    When focus-assist is activated, the rear command dial can be used to switch between the two zoom levels.

    To make a very picky correction: the rear command dial is Program Shift when you're in P mode. So yes, you need to have lens and shutter speed set at A to use that. However, Program Shift works with both fixed ISO and auto-ISO. It does not work if DR-Auto is selected. Program Shift also doesn't work with lenses that use the rear command dial for aperture control.
     
    Knut and Fran Velasco like this.
  6. merosen

    merosen Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Somerville, MA

    -Return to Top-

    If you use a lens with no aperture control, the rear dial is shutter speed, front dial is aperture control.
     
    Fran Velasco likes this.
  7. Dirk Offringa

    Dirk Offringa Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    France

    -Return to Top-

    to spice things up a bit:

    -only when focus is set to manual
    -only in when focus assist is in standard mode
    -not when in double screen mode in the viewfinder
     
    Knut and Fran Velasco like this.
  8. jamie allan

    jamie allan Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,782
    Likes Received:
    2,638
    Location:
    Glasgow Scotland Europe

    -Return to Top-

    I think you mean the other way round - the normal setting is that the rear dial is aperture control whereas the front will allow restricted shutter speed change ie if the shutter dial on top of the camera is set to 1/125 then rotating the front dial will allow you to go from 1/80 to 1/160.

    upload_2018-2-13_18-46-26.png
     
    Fran Velasco likes this.
  9. merosen

    merosen Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Somerville, MA

    -Return to Top-

    I changed it around a couple of times, so I couldn't remeber the default
    If You want the aperture on the front, go to the menu that reverses the comand dial function
    Yes, you can set a speed on the top and it will give you room to change it within a few stops
    But as I wrote, putting it on "T" lets you go the whole gamut of shutter speeds
     
    Fran Velasco and Dirk Offringa like this.
  10. Fran Velasco

    Fran Velasco New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Madrid

    -Return to Top-

    Thank you everyone.

    I used to work as a photographer, so not planning of using auto aperture or auto shutter speed in the near future. No way I'm letting the camera decide for me except for the ISO. So I guess the rear wheel will last more than the camera because for me it will keep unused.
     
    Robmas4229 and Dirk Offringa like this.
  11. rsn48

    rsn48 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    25

    -Return to Top-

    Its clear everyone is using a different X T1 than the other guys.
     
    mokeiyong likes this.
  12. merosen

    merosen Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Somerville, MA

    -Return to Top-

    You can configure the command dial to have the aperture work on the back, Speed on front or change around in the menu to be the other way around.
    I prefer the aperture dial on the front for lenses without apeture rings, it in a nearby place, so all I have to do is move my hand a bit from when I'm using a lens with a ring, Just the way i shoot. Aperture is always on the front.
    In same way you can configure the focus ring to be clockwise or counter clockwise in the menu system
    So, every one has a different X-t1 than everbody else. Customization
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2018
    mokeiyong likes this.

Share This Page