This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Purple artifact or grid issue

Discussion in 'X-E1, X-E2, X-E2S, X-E3' started by Garym5, Nov 6, 2018.

  1. Garym5

    Garym5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin

    -Return to Top-

    Hi All,

    Can anyone confirm does the X-E3 exhibit the purple or grid artifact issues that are plagueing the X-Pro2/T2 cameras.

    I am currently looking to purchase a newer model than my XE2s and want to know since they use the same 24m XTransIII sensor.
     
  2. A C Skinner

    A C Skinner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Cumbria and Northumberland UK

    -Return to Top-

    I don't know the answer to your direct question but my X-T2 and X-E3 are not plagued by it. I've given up worrying about it. My reading is that it is an unusual phenomenon affecting images only rarely.
     
    Codda likes this.
  3. Garym5

    Garym5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin

    -Return to Top-

    I’m debating between the X-Pro2 or X-E3 but if they have the same issue I may wait for the next rangefinder style upgrade.
     
  4. versesinanelegiacmetre

    versesinanelegiacmetre Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    15

    -Return to Top-

    I think "plagued" is an exaggeration.
     
  5. Claude

    Claude Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Mission BC Canada

    -Return to Top-

    I have the XPro2 is not plagued by it
     
  6. The Judge

    The Judge Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Kennewick, Washington, USA

    -Return to Top-

    At some point, Fuji realized this was a problem on the X-T2 and X-Pro2 and for new units quietly altered the shape of the baffle that sits between the lens mount and the sensor. The X-T20 and X-E3 came after and as far as I know utilitze the corrected baffle. X-Trans III bodies sent in to Fuji for repair for other issues will also have this mod performed free of charge without telling the owner. Unfortunately I cannot find where I read this but some users have posted side-by-side pictures that illustrate the difference. The purple grid artifact is much less frequent in this new design, however this is a phenomenon that all mirrorless cameras are susceptible to. I have even seen it once or twice with my X-Pro1, but I've taken thousands of pictures without issue.

    In short, it's nothing to worry about.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2018
  7. Garym5

    Garym5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin

    -Return to Top-

    Thanks for the replies!

    I’m leaning towards 2 x X-E3’s. Any word on the X-Pro3 any time soon or is it just a pipe dream?
     
  8. Kevin Fickling

    Kevin Fickling Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    84

    -Return to Top-

    No word on x-pro3 yet. If you go with the X-E3's you will not regret it. I love mine and use when I need to keep my travel kit light.
     
  9. Alice

    Alice Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,684
    Likes Received:
    1,398
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas

    -Return to Top-

    I’ve never seen it on my T2.
     
  10. jjesp

    jjesp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7

    -Return to Top-

    I have not experienced it on my X-E3. But again, I have not noticed it on my new X-PRO2 either. Firmware 5.0....
     
  11. LionSpeed

    LionSpeed Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3,884
    Location:
    SoCal

    -Return to Top-

    I've not seen it on my Xpro2, T2's (black & silver), either. None on my XE2, X100F, X70, X-H1 or T3 for that matter.
     
  12. Garym5

    Garym5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin

    -Return to Top-

    Did I read somewhere they changed something after finding this issue on the X-Pro 2?
     

Share This Page

  1. fujix-forum.com uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice