This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Problem: X-T2 spot metering only with manual focus!

Discussion in 'X-T2, X-T1, X-T20, X-T10' started by Gunkanman, May 18, 2017.

  1. Gunkanman

    Gunkanman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Copenhagen

    -Return to Top-

    Hi.
    My X-T2 appears to have developed a problem. Basically it will only spot/centre meter in manual focus mode. Has anyone else experienced this?
    I have reset to factory settings but still the problem persists.
    I guess I need to send it back to Fuji for repair?
     
  2. merosen

    merosen Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Somerville, MA

    -Return to Top-

    Are you talking about spot metering or spot focus (the box in the middle of the finder)
    On the X-t1 in manual there is a single box in rthe middle of thr finder. It's a single focus point as opposed to multiple focus points.
    You can move the box around with keypad, change it size with the wheel on the back of the camera. Spot focusing is the only option in manual
    The box represents the AF Mode
    Menu 1 >Autofocus setting> AF Mode,
    Spot metering is a different function. Metering isn't effected by setting the camera to manual
    I'm assuming its the same on an X-T2
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2017
  3. beakhammer

    beakhammer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    9,974
    Likes Received:
    6,130
    Location:
    Salish Sea

    -Return to Top-

    I think there is a way to couple and uncouple metering from this focus point box.
     
  4. Gunkanman

    Gunkanman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Copenhagen

    -Return to Top-

    Got it working again. If 'Face Detection' is switched on, then spot/centre metering won't work with Auto or Continuous focus.
     
  5. Richard_R

    Richard_R Eclectic eccentric

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,600
    Likes Received:
    5,832
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia

    -Return to Top-

    I discovered the same thing when I first got the X-T1. Very frustrating at the time and I could not for the life of me figure out what was going on.
     
  6. David Schneider

    David Schneider Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,444
    Likes Received:
    902
    Location:
    NJ, USA

    -Return to Top-

    If you reset to factory defaults as you said, doesn't that take you off Face Detection? I haven't done a re-set myself so just wondering. Thanks.
     
  7. Gunkanman

    Gunkanman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Copenhagen

    -Return to Top-

    Strange that things like Face Detection remained on. Only the assignments of the customised buttons, etc changed.
     

Share This Page