This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Godox question: Can the flash power be controlled by a trigger that's not mounted on the camwera?

Discussion in 'Fuji X Flash and Artificial Lighting (LED, etc.)' started by ojporqpojrewpo, Aug 9, 2017.

  1. ojporqpojrewpo

    ojporqpojrewpo Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    342
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    -Return to Top-

    I have a project in mind where it would be hard to access the camera. I can trigger the camera with a remote but from what I can tell you need to control the flash power from the trigger/flash that's on the camera.

    Does anybody know if it's possible to control the power from a trigger/flash that's not on the camera?
     
  2. ebruder

    ebruder Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    -Return to Top-

    When originally testing my TT350F and AD200, I was able to control the AD200 power, from an unmounted TT350F.

    But, how will you "trigger" the trigger or flash if not mounted on the hotshoe as you mention? Or maybe I am misunderstanding.

    EB
     
  3. ojporqpojrewpo

    ojporqpojrewpo Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    342
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    -Return to Top-

    With Cactus there was a setting that allows you to trigger the camera (and flash) from an unmounted Cactus trigger wirelessly. Just wondering if Godox offers that too.
     
    jknights likes this.
  4. ebruder

    ebruder Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    -Return to Top-

    If so, I do not know of it. Very cool of Cactus, however. Best of success in finding the solution.

    EB

    edit: You can trigger the camera and change some shooting settings using the smart phone app, so maybe there's an answer hidden there for you.
     
  5. jknights

    jknights Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12,315
    Likes Received:
    2,491
    Location:
    Oliva, Valencia, Spain

    -Return to Top-

    One of the reasons that I kept my two Cactus v6 mkii units.
     
  6. Jonimages

    Jonimages Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Silverhill-AL

    -Return to Top-

    Yes, get a second Godox trigger. As long as both triggers and light are set to same channel and group you can change the power of the flash.
     
    inkista likes this.
  7. ojporqpojrewpo

    ojporqpojrewpo Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    342
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    -Return to Top-

    That actually makes sense. Let me try this weekend.
     
  8. Jonimages

    Jonimages Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Silverhill-AL

    -Return to Top-

    I did a quick check with my 2 FT-16's and a speedlight. Each changed the power and the light stays at the power of last change so whatever triggers the flash doesn't override the power setting unless it actually changes the power.
     
  9. BoomeArt

    BoomeArt Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Belarus, Minsk

    -Return to Top-

    Yes you can. You need to connect your Transmitter via cable to sync port of your camera.
    Please login to view links, the bottom picture :)
     

Share This Page