This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Fuji XF 55-200 Continuous AF

Discussion in 'Native X-Mount Lens Forum' started by MacGreg, Apr 12, 2018.

1. MacGreg

MacGreg New Member

-Return to Top-

Hello all !!

A brief backstory first ... I've been shooting indoor volley games lately for a local team and I'm using the 18-55 with no problems at all. Tracking AF, continuous high , f4 , iso6400 almost all the time. The results I get are pretty much amazing , considering the fact that a) I'm not a pro and b) it's "just a kit lens".

Now, for most of the shots the 18-55 is ok with a little cropping but there are times that I want that extra sth, a tighter frame and for that I was using adapted MF lenses. Which works good ... but it's a pain and I'm not always that fast/lucky so as to nail some shots.

I was wondering if the 55-200 can work as good as the 18-55, considering my AF needs as described above. I believe that the f3.5 will help to gather a bit more light at least till the focal length it does (around 70mm if I'm not mistaken, which is fine for the distance I have to shoot from) and may be get some nice portraits of the players during the game, or shots near the net ... but I'm reading mixed results as far as it's focusing capabilities especially indoors.

What are your thoughts ? Should I invest in that lens or not ? Has anyone used it in similar circumstances ?

2. jknights

jknights Moderator Staff Member

-Return to Top-

I dont know how the 55-200 will work under low light conditions but I wouldnt expect it to be as good as the 18-55.
    If you want good performance then the 50-140 will give you better AF and possibly image quality. You lose a little on the long end reach but the larger max aperture will be a real win.

3. MacGreg

MacGreg New Member

-Return to Top-

Yeah, the 50-140 would be ideal but it's way out of my budget.

4. Mervington