This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Fuji X-T2 and Nissin i40 - not working properly?

Discussion in 'X-T2, X-T1, X-T20, X-T10' started by Carolyn, Sep 9, 2016.

  1. Carolyn

    Carolyn Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA

    -Return to Top-

    My Nissin i40 is not working properly on my X-T2. It's fine on my XT10 and XPro2.

    I tried my Fuji XF-20 and Yonguo IV on the X-T2 and those work fine, just not the Nissin.

    Does anyone have a Nissin i40 that they've tired on their X-T2 and it's worked properly? A very low flash will fire, but it won't adjust higher.

    Since the others work and it's the same settings, I'm guessing its the Nissan i40, which would be a bummer because I really like this little flash!
     
    photo buff and jknights like this.
  2. Codda

    Codda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    East Coast

    -Return to Top-

    May be necessary to be in boost mode -
     
  3. Carolyn

    Carolyn Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA

    -Return to Top-

    Same thing in normal or boost mode. Just tried.
     
  4. ojporqpojrewpo

    ojporqpojrewpo Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    -Return to Top-

    I think this is a known issue. I don't know if there is a solution. Nissin may have to upgrade the firmware.
     
    eurotrash likes this.
  5. zen

    zen Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    new jersey

    -Return to Top-

    you can use it manually, but theres no TTL, you can use it in CH and CL, just did it 15 minutes ago.
     
  6. Carolyn

    Carolyn Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA

    -Return to Top-

    I only use it manually and it's not working properly. Only a very small flash amount regardless of the setting. Did you use an X-T2?
     
    pharyngealized likes this.
  7. Carolyn

    Carolyn Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA

    -Return to Top-

    Maybe it's the i40 that I have? It's the FJ model.
     
  8. zen

    zen Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    new jersey

    -Return to Top-

    yup, im doing it right now as i write this
     
  9. zen

    zen Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    new jersey

    -Return to Top-

    set switch on flash to "m", i X-T2 flash settings select "M" for flash mode, set drive dial to CL, turn flash on, fire away. I did reset the camera before i did any of this, that might help, and make sure its on the hot shoe all the way, make sure you push it forward and its locked securely into place, i did have a problem at first when i put it on where i thought it was locked on, but it wasnt, i gave it a little nudge and its worked fine since then with no issues other than me killing the batteries in the flash.
     
  10. Carolyn

    Carolyn Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA

    -Return to Top-

    Not working for me with CL or CH. You can only set it to M in the camera. New batteries (thought of that one!). It works with my other cameras, just not the X-T2. It does burst flash with CH but again, only a very low output.
     
  11. zen

    zen Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    new jersey

    -Return to Top-

    raise the flash power, i dunno what to say, the only problem i had was that i hadnt pushed it forward enough on the hot shoe initially, after that i reset the camera, used the settings i wrote out and i havent had a problem, my buddy has the same setup, and i just confirmed my settings with him and he gets it to fire also with no problem, just has to use it manually, no TTL.
     
    AtsukoK likes this.
  12. visorvet

    visorvet Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    419
    Location:
    Earth

    -Return to Top-

    The Pfirstinger "First Look" article said the camera is incompatible with the i40.
    I own both but haven't tried them together yet.
     
    eurotrash likes this.
  13. Carolyn

    Carolyn Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA

    -Return to Top-

    Someone posted on another forum that it's not reliable so who knows.

    Flashes the same no matter what power I have it at. As I mentioned, my Fuji and Yongnuos work fine. I use flashes daily so I'm not new to them.
     
  14. WKB

    WKB Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    North Wales UK

    -Return to Top-

    I don't have an XT-2 yet (maybe a Christmas present?) but I can't see any ports on the i40 flash that would enable a firmware update.

    Is this something that could be resolved by a Fuji update to the camera firmware?

    Are there any similar issues with the X-Pro2?
     
  15. moz

    moz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ireland

    -Return to Top-

    I'm having the exact same problem with my X-T2 & i40. Low powered flash on TTL and Manual, no matter how I adjust the settings.
    Really hope a firmware update can fix this as I love the little i40.
     
    Carolyn likes this.
  16. mikegee

    mikegee Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    466
    Location:
    Yonkers, NY

    -Return to Top-

    I would try setting shutter speed to 1/200 and setting to camera forced flash, that's total manual. If that won't work it's a total loss.
     
  17. Bershatsky

    Bershatsky New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    -Return to Top-

    Mike doesn't work either.
     
  18. Carolyn

    Carolyn Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA

    -Return to Top-

    You don't have the option to set the camera to forced flash. The new firmware chooses the options you have. With this flash, it comes up as Manual with front or rear curtain options only. Neither front or rear change anything - still getting the same.
     
  19. jknights

    jknights Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12,241
    Likes Received:
    2,453
    Location:
    Oliva, Valencia, Spain

    -Return to Top-

    Hope that this gets fixed soon.
    I will get my X-T2 at end of September and I already have an i40 so I will test for myself but I am sure you are right.
     
    MRphotography likes this.
  20. Len

    Len Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5

    -Return to Top-

    EEK! Just tried my XT 2/i40 combo - not working :( Where do we go from here?
     

Share This Page