This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

At last, a BIF picture!

Discussion in 'X-T2, X-T1, X-T20, X-T10' started by cheddar-caveman, Apr 9, 2018.

  1. cheddar-caveman

    cheddar-caveman Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Devon, England

    -Return to Top-

    Finally managed to get a half decent BIF picture and I can't remember which AF mode I was in (C or S). I did have the OIS off, I think? Where can one check these things, Exif data?
    Little bit grainy as I was on ISO3200.

    MJOD0398.jpg
     
  2. ojporqpojrewpo

    ojporqpojrewpo Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    -Return to Top-

    I think if you use a tool like exiftool you can find these settings .


    Nice pic BTW!
     
  3. Dirk Offringa

    Dirk Offringa Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    795
    Location:
    France

    -Return to Top-

    I recommend Jeffrey Friedl's Metadata Viewer plugin for Lightroom.
     
  4. jknights

    jknights Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    13,545
    Likes Received:
    3,147
    Location:
    Oliva, Valencia, Spain

    -Return to Top-

    Your BIF image is excellent from a Fuji.
    I get similar from my Nikon D500 with Nikon 200-500 lens.

    If you have the original available then I can take a look at its EXIF data (if you post a link to the original in Dropbox or similar) or you can look if you use DIREXIF utility.
    For more information on the utility do a forum search for DIREXIF.

    Please login or register to view links


    This will get you the AF settings that you used.
     
  5. cheddar-caveman

    cheddar-caveman Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Devon, England

    -Return to Top-

    I have an EXIF data reader and it lists just about everything other than things like which OIS mode was used!

    Screen Shot 2018-04-09 at 20.18.10.png
     
  6. jknights

    jknights Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    13,545
    Likes Received:
    3,147
    Location:
    Oliva, Valencia, Spain

    -Return to Top-

    Guess next questions is have you chamged the AF settings in the menus since you took the picture?
    Might be interesting to share those here as well.
    I would bet it was AF-C.


    Also have you tried DIREXIF.
    The software footprint is absolutely tiny (<1MB) but you also also need to install Java (75MB I think).
     
  7. Dirk Offringa

    Dirk Offringa Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    795
    Location:
    France

    -Return to Top-

    And you can also use it's online version: Please login or register to view links
     
    rammichawla likes this.
  8. cheddar-caveman

    cheddar-caveman Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Devon, England

    -Return to Top-

    I looked at the DIREXIF but you need to join DropBox or something to upload your picture to?
    Just ran Jeffrey's and it sure came up with just about everything but still no mention the OIS setting or the AF mode.
    Camera is currently on S and OIS Mode 1 but I probably changed it as this is my default - birds sitting on branches etc.
    I'll have another go next time and make a not of settings.
     
    jknights likes this.
  9. Adam Sherman

    Adam Sherman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Gunnison, Colorado

    -Return to Top-

    Not grainy enough to detract, great shot.

    It looks like you used the 100-400 with extender? Data says (35mm equivalent) 600mm.
     
  10. GregWard

    GregWard Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4,553
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    Location:
    London

    -Return to Top-

    I don't think so? The EXIF says the focal length was 400mm and the 35mm equivalent FL was 600mm. That would be 400 x the 1.5 crop factor - no extender involved.

    Congrats to the OP - I know you've been striving towards this - so well done.
     
  11. Fujiphotog

    Fujiphotog Amateur photographer.

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    1,491
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada

    -Return to Top-

    Congratulations. If you did it once you can do it again. And again.
     
  12. cheddar-caveman

    cheddar-caveman Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Devon, England

    -Return to Top-

    No Adam, just the 100-400 fully extended, hand held. Doubt I'd get that sort of result with the extender on, it it would AF at all! Another miserable, wet day here so probably not much chance of using the camera! Not sure just how "waterproof" it is?
     
  13. jknights

    jknights Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    13,545
    Likes Received:
    3,147
    Location:
    Oliva, Valencia, Spain

    -Return to Top-

    Yes the original image RAF or JPG is too big for forum so Dropbox is required.
     
  14. jknights

    jknights Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    13,545
    Likes Received:
    3,147
    Location:
    Oliva, Valencia, Spain

    -Return to Top-

    I would guess that you were using AF-C and Mode2 but that is just my guess. I tend to leave my camera in a particular AF mode unless I find a real need to change but most of the time I shoot with AF-S
     
  15. runswithsizzers

    runswithsizzers Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,316
    Location:
    on the edge

    -Return to Top-

    I was about to say the same thing. Only downside, all the data gets dumped into one big list with no way to sort it (tho some categories are color coded). And there is a lot of data. However the search function is pretty good, and it just got better. Before, you could search for ISO, and then search for Shutter (speed) - but not both at the same time. Now you can separate multiple search terms with the vertical bar "|" (does that thing have a proper name?) like "iso|shutter" and the data from both search terms will be combined in the same window.
     
  16. hobbyhorse

    hobbyhorse New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4

    -Return to Top-

    Exiftool (using Exiftool GUI) tells you AFMode (i.e. Single Point) and ImageStabilization (i.e. Optical; On (mode 2, shooting only); 0) and lots more but I could not find Focus Mode, which is what you're after.

    Please login or register to view links
     
  17. cheddar-caveman

    cheddar-caveman Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Devon, England

    -Return to Top-

    Thanks hobbyhorse but that seems to be for Windows. Trying to find same for Mac!!

    OK, Found and downloaded the program. The instructions say once installed open "Terminal" and type "Exifdata" to run.

    Um, that didn't work so "work in progress"!
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  18. hobbyhorse

    hobbyhorse New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4

    -Return to Top-

    According to this one below, type "exiftool" in a Terminal window. I'm on Windows so can't check it right now.
    Please login or register to view links
     
  19. cheddar-caveman

    cheddar-caveman Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Devon, England

    -Return to Top-

    Yes I did all that but it seems to "run" in the Terminal and looks very complicated? Not really that savvy to start doing this sort of thing on my MBP.
    This is a screen shot of what comes up and I have no idea what it all means???????

    Screen Shot 2018-04-17 at 08.42.47.png
     
  20. Dirk Offringa

    Dirk Offringa Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    795
    Location:
    France

    -Return to Top-

    Yes that's the way applications work if they don't have a GUI (Graphical User Interface) but a CLI (Command-Line Interface). It's the same thing as checking boxes only that you have to name the box. What you are seeing here is the complete manual (keep "enter" pressed to scroll down the whole doc). This might be totally overwhelming because ExifTool is a very deep software.

    If you just want to read metadata, and you're not computer-savvy you should use a GUI overlay (don't know if there's a Mac version of the wellknown ExifToolGUI ), or just use Jeffrey Friedl's LR plugin MataDataViewer which is a GUI for ExifTool restricted to reading and displaying exif data, and ignores all the other ExifTool commands. You won't get more meta information out of ExifTool using the commandline than from the Metadataviewer plugin.

    Otherwise, if you're still interested in using Exiftool on the commandline:

    To generate a text file with all metadata listed (will be created in the folder where the original file lives): type the following in the terminal: exiftool -a -u -g1 -w txt *FILE* where *FILE* is the full path to the file you want to extract metadata from. Valid on Windows, and should be valid on mac too, but I can't check.

    On Windows, if you make a copy of exiftool.exe and rename it to exiftool(-a -u -g1 -w txt).exe, you can then drag and drop a file onto it which does the same thing but it's easier, you don't have to type anything.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2018

Share This Page