This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

RAW Conventions

Discussion in 'X-T2, X-T1, X-T20, X-T10' started by Rneedle, Mar 11, 2017.

1. Rneedle

Rneedle New Member

-Return to Top-

Folks,

I am new to the world of photography and just bought my first serious camera, the Fuji X-T20. The first thing I am trying to do is to set up a simple workflow between LR, Iridient Developer, PS, and--if I have to--Bridge.

I would like to use both LR and Iridient on the same RAW file and compare the results. Each program has certain advantages (not to mention that the hedges I photographed look very crunchy on LR). Am I correct in believing that I can use a single RAW file for both programs in the sense that when LR writes a 'sidecar'(not sure of the proper term) to the RAW and Iridient does the same, that when I use the file in LR, the Iridient changes are simply not read and visa versa?

I don't know if I am violating any forum guidelines (its my first post) but I have a second question. When I look through the branches of trees on a photo I see a darkening of the blue color--the closer the branches are, the bluer the intervening sky. It is not fringing(or I think chromatic aberration) , since the darker color is not confined close to the branches. Is this a lens problem, or have I simply not been noticing that this is what I have been seeing all these years when I look at a landscape?

Thanks for your help,

Richard

2. Shadowside

Shadowside Good Glass is Forever...

-Return to Top-

Welcome to both Photography and this forum @Rneedle :)

I don't use that combination, although I have used each of those products so here is what I would do if I were adopting those tools:

1. I would use Fast Raw Viewer (and still do btw) or Photo Mechanic to weed my shots down to the keepers only and sue PM as my main database for RAF files.