This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Let's Play Conspiracy Theory

Discussion in 'X-T2, X-T1, X-T20, X-T10' started by kerrydeare, Mar 17, 2017.

1. kerrydeare

kerrydeare X-T1 Diehard

-Return to Top-

I'm a satisfied X-T1 user: two bodies and five XF lenses that have performed flawlessly for over two years. As an amateur I've learned to coexist with my slightly off-axis sense of what makes a good image for almost 50 years.

Almost since its introduction, the X-T2 has been a scarce commodity. It's also been widely praised as a significant advance over the X-T1, and as a genuinely superior camera compared to the competition (however one defines "competition"). In short this camera is a money maker for Fujifilm, particularly when additional Fuji items are added into the marketing mix (and Fujifilm lenses appear to be on the high end price-wise). So why doesn't Fujifilm ramp up production and distribution to meet demand?

One clue may come from the comparative pricing of the X-T1. This camera still lists at or above its original price when introduced in 2014 (I haven't checked this assertion in great detail). I've also no idea of relative sales volumes for the two models, but it's reasonable to assume that lack of availability of the newer model affects this ratio adversely. With the X-T2 physically out of reach, the X-T1 is the only choice for certain users.

Another clue may come from Sony's decision to cease production of the sensors used in the XT-1 in favor of the newer sensors in the XT-2. In other words Fuji is probably not planning on additional volume production of the XT-1 much beyond using up existing inventories until they're exhausted. For the sake of argument, I assume that parts for the X-T2 are readily available (perhaps a weak assumption).